Press "Enter" to skip to content

Diwali: 5-Day Festival of Lights Celebrated in India

Diwali: 5-Day Festival of Lights Celebrated in India:

Five Days Of Diwali

Diwali is a festival of brightness, splendor, pleasure and happiness. All Indians across the world  celebrates it with great excitement as it is the festival of lights. The uniqueness of this festival is its harmony of five various concepts, with each day to its unique thought. People observe this five days of festivities with true understanding which would enhance their lives and will uplift.

The first day of Diwali: Dhanteras

The very first day of Diwali is known as Dhanwantari Triodasi or Dhanvantari Triodasi called Dhan Theras. It is actually the lunar time the dim forthnight of the month of Kartik, of Krishna Paksh. For manking, Lord Dhanwantari arrived from the sea with Ayurvedic. This very day represents the start of diwali activities.

With this sunset, Hindus must bath and place a lighted diya with Prasad (desserts provided at worship period) to Yama Raj, God of Death and hope for safety from early death. This offering ought to be placed near the Holy Basil, a Tulsi pine or every other holy tree which one may have within their lawn.

The second day of Diwali: Choti Diwali:

Diwali’s 2nd day is known as Narak Chaturdasi. On this evening Lord Krishna created the planet free from fear and anxiety by destroying the devil Narakasur. On this evening, everyone ought to massage their bodies with oil to ensure that Diwali could be celebrated with vigour and commitment to alleviate it of fatigue, bath and sleep.

On this evening, Yama Diya shouldn’t be lit. The Shastras (Regulations of Dharma) expresses that Yama Diya ought to be provided on Triodasi evening with Prasad. That is definitely not correct. You may contact the learned pandit or hindu astrologer in this regard.

The third day of Diwali: Lakshmi Puja on Diwali 

On this day evening all would worship Lord/Mother Lakshmi. Hindus clean themselves and join with their families as well as their Pandit (priest) and they praise the divine Goddess Lakshmi to attain the success of good over evil, the benefits of success and wealth and light over night.

The fourth day of Diwali: Padwa & Govardhan Puja

On this evening, Govardhan Pooja is conducted. Thousands of years back, Lord Krishna triggered Vraja’s people to do Govardhan Pooja. There after, each year Hindus worship Govardhan to honor that Pooja done by the people of Vraja.

The fifth day of Diwali: Bhai Duj

This day is also referred as Bhai teeka. This is actually two days after Diwali day and usually the day after Goverdhan Pooja is performed. It’s a day, many moons ago, in the Vedic age, Yama (Yamraj, the Lord of death) visited his sister Yamuna on this very day. Whoever would see their sisters or viceversa would attain final emancipation or Moksha. From then on, brothers and their sisters see on this particular day to enquire of their wellbeing.

This day marks the ending of the five days of diwali festivities. This really is also referred to as Bhai fota among Bengalis.